Our Activities

BIOS is en route - 28.11.2022

‘BIOS: The bio-intelligent DBTL cycle, a key enabler catalysing the industrial transformation towards sustainable bio-manufacturing’ pushes Industry towards a Biological Transformation.

As part of the recent call on ‚Digital and emerging technologies‘ the European project celebrated its kick-off meeting in the representation of the German state of Baden-Wuerttemberg, in Brussels, on October 5th/6th (see picture). BIOS started officially on October 1st and will last for 4 years. The nine partners from academia and industry, that originate from six European countries, support and drive the novel scientific movement of ‘biointelligence’ which reflects the conversion of biotechnology, information technology including AI and automation technology. This biointelligence mindset makes up the core of BIOS and accelerates strain and bioprocess engineering for producing novel fine chemicals and commodities in a sustainable manner. BIOS makes intensive use of hybrid learning to fully exploit the information contained in the vast amount of experimental data which are generated in an automated fashion through biorobotics. The project brings together experts from molecular and synthetic biology, systems metabolic engineering, microbiology, biochemical and bioprocess engineering, chemistry, and life cycle assessment. 

The dedicated team has one collective goal: to replace current fossil routes with sustainable microbial processes through the help of the biointelligent mindset. Soon, progress of BIOS will be shared publicly through different channels. 

*https://ec.europa.eu/info/funding-tenders/opportunities/portal/sreen/opportunities/topic-details/horizon-cl4-2021-digital-emerging-01-27 

© Christopher Hardt / LifeGlimmer GmbH

"Piloting biointelligent hydrogen production with Evonik" - 22.11.2022

In the SmartBioH2-BW project, a biorefinery is to be integrated into the existing industrial environment of Evonik Operations GmbH in Rheinfelden to produce biohydrogen and biobased recyclables on an industrial scale - using industrial wastewater and residual material streams generated there.

Hydrogen (H2) is considered a key element of the energy transition. It can be used not only as an energy carrier, for example as fuel for aircraft and ships, to fire furnaces or to generate electricity and heat in fuel cells, but also as a raw material for the chemical industry. As part of its national hydrogen strategy, Germany is focusing primarily on green hydrogen, which is produced from water and renewable energy by means of electrolysis. However, biotechnological processes can also be used to produce hydrogen without the use of fossil energy sources. Processes using photosynthetically growing, hydrogen-producing purple bacteria or microalgae have been studied for a long time. Processes for the production of biohydrogen have not yet been implemented on a larger scale.

With the process of photosynthesis, known primarily from plants, organisms use light energy to convert water and carbon dioxide from the air into sugar, a high-energy chemical carbon compound. Purple bacteria and microalgae release hydrogen in the process. Research work on the biotechnological production of hydrogen focuses on modifying or adapting the metabolism of the microbes or the culture conditions for the microalgae in such a way that the organisms produce as much hydrogen as possible and economic production becomes possible. Another challenge is the limitation of the light supply for the purple bacteria in plants that go beyond the laboratory scale.

Further information at: https://um.baden-wuerttemberg.de/biooekonomie-bio-ab-cycling https://um.baden-wuerttemberg.de/biooekonomie-bio-ab-cycling

© Rafael Krotz / Fraunhofer IGB

"Biointelligent solutions for circular food chains" - 02.11.2022.

As part of the #Biointelligenz e.V research network, the University of Hohenheim hosted a workshop on "Biointelligent Solutions for Circular Food Chains" on October 10, 2022. The seven speakers discussed with 16 participants, on topics including 3D/4D food printing, aroma chemistry, food informatics and AI in agricultural technology. In addition to new collaborative research ideas around the topic of 3D Food Printing (inspired by the concrete practical requests of the participants) and the establishment of new contacts, the speakers received much positive feedback due to the great and exciting insights into the various topics of biointelligence. Further workshops in the fields of housing, energy, consumption and health will follow soon.

Biointelligent Production Sensor to Measure Viral Activity (BioProS) - 19.10.2022

On July 1, 2022 started the Project “Biointelligent Production Sensor to Measure Viral Activity (BioProS)”. The project duration will be 48 months and seven partners from five countries are represented in the BioProS consortium: Fraunhofer IPA and Fraunhofer IGB (Germany), Politecnico di Milano (Italy), Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen (Germany), NecstGen (Netherlands), Elvesys (France), EurA AG (Germany) and BICO Group AB (Sweden). The aim of the project partners is to transform virus biomanufacturing processes and enable new quality control strategies by a continuous, real-time monitoring using biohybrid sensor technology to detect cell-based virus infection cycles. This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon Europe research and innovation programme (HORIZON-CL4-2021-DIGITAL-EMERGING-01-27: Development of technologies/devices for bio-intelligent manufacturing (RIA)) under grant agreement No 101070120.

© Fraunhofer IPA

Automated cultivation of biomass - Festo presents PhotoBionicCell - 09.09.2022

Our association member Festo presents PhotoBionicCell at the Hannover Messe. The bioreactor makes photosynthesis of algae possible efficiently and on a large scale.

Algae are small climate savers. Even during their natural photosynthesis outdoors, they are extremely efficient and bind ten times more carbon dioxide (CO₂) than land plants. In bioreactors with the appropriate sensors, control technology and automation, the efficiency of algae can be increased to a hundred times that of land plants. Therefore, they hold considerable potential for a climate-neutral circular economy. With the PhotoBionicCell research project, Festo is demonstrating a possible approach for the industrial biologization of tomorrow at Hannover Messe 2022.

This represents a very good example of a "Smart Biomanufacturing Device" and thus the necessary basic architecture of a Biointelligent Production System.

More exciting information about the innovation from Festo:

© Festo

Our Industry Position Paper - 23.08.2022

In our industry position paper, we want to show how the convergence of bio-, hardware- and software can enable new biointelligent products and business models and thus make a fundamental contribution to the competitiveness and sustainability of our industries. A crucial prerequisite for this transformation is that technological, informational and biological mindsets and methods come together.

We want to encourage this to be accelerated by flanking political framework conditions with appropriate economic incentives. The time for this has never been more favorable!

Click here for our thesis paper (as PDF).

 

© Fraunhofer IPA

Unsere Aktivitäten

BIOS ist auf dem Weg - 28.11.2022

BIOS: Der bio-intelligente DBTL-Zyklus, ein wichtiger Katalysator für den industriellen Wandel hin zu einer nachhaltigen Bioproduktion‘ treibt die Industrie in Richtung einer biologischen Transformation voran.

Im Rahmen der Ausschreibung „Digital and Emerging Technologies“ fand am 5. und 6. Oktober 2022 in der Baden-Württemberg-Vertretung in Brüssel die Auftaktveranstaltung des europäischen Projekts BIOS statt (siehe Bild). BIOS hat offiziell am 1. Oktober begonnen und wird vier Jahre laufen. Neun Partner aus Wissenschaft und Industrie aus sechs europäischen Ländern unterstützen und treiben das Paradigma der „Biointelligenz“ voran: die Konvergenz von Biotechnologie, Informationstechnologie einschließlich KI und Automatisierungstechnik. Biointelligenz bildet den Kern von BIOS und beschleunigt die nachhaltige Herstellung neuartiger Feinchemikalien und Rohstoffe. BIOS wendet hybrides Lernen an, um die Informationen vollständig zu nutzen, die in den riesigen Mengen experimenteller Daten über Biorobotik automatisiert erzeugt werden. Das Projekt bringt Experten aus den Bereichen Molekular- und Synthetische Biologie, System-Stoffwechseltechnik, Mikrobiologie, Bioverfahrenstechnik, Chemie und Ökobilanzierung zusammen. 

Das engagierte Team hat ein gemeinsames Ziel: die derzeitigen fossilen durch nachhaltige mikrobielle Prozesse mit Hilfe biointelligenter Technologien zu ersetzen. Die Fortschritte von BIOS werden kontinuierlich über unterschiedliche Kanäle veröffentlicht. 

*https://ec.europa.eu/info/funding-tenders/opportunities/portal/sreen/opportunities/topic-details/horizon-cl4-2021-digital-emerging-01-27 

© Christopher Hardt / LifeGlimmer GmbH

„Erprobung einer biointelligenten Wasserstoffproduktion mit Evonik“ - 22.11.2022

Beim Projekt SmartBioH2-BW soll eine Bioraffinerie in die bestehende Industrieumgebung der Evonik Operations GmbH in Rheinfelden integriert werden, um Biowasserstoff und biobasierte Wertstoffe im industriellen Maßstab zu produzieren – unter Nutzung von dort anfallenden industriellen Abwasser- und Reststoffströmen.

Wasserstoff (H2) gilt als Schlüsselelement der Energiewende. Es ist nicht nur als Energieträger einsetzbar, zum Beispiel als Kraftstoff für Flugzeuge und Schiffe, zur Befeuerung von Brennöfen oder für die Erzeugung von Strom und Wärme in Brennstoffzellen, sondern auch als Rohstoff für die Chemieindustrie. Deutschland setzt im Rahmen seiner nationalen Wasserstoffstrategie vor allem auf grünen Wasserstoff, der mittels Elektrolyse aus Wasser und erneuerbarer Energie gewonnen wird. Doch auch mit biotechnologischen Verfahren lässt sich Wasserstoff ohne den Einsatz fossiler Energieträger herstellen. Verfahren mit photosynthetisch wachsenden, Wasserstoff produzierenden Purpurbakterien oder Mikroalgen werden seit langer Zeit untersucht. Im größeren Maßstab umgesetzt wurden die Verfahren zur Herstellung von Biowasserstoff bisher nicht.

Mit dem Prozess der Photosynthese, bekannt vor allem von den Pflanzen, nutzen Organismen Lichtenergie, um Wasser und Kohlenstoffdioxid aus der Luft in Zucker, also eine energiereiche chemische Kohlenstoffverbindung, umzuwandeln. Purpurbakterien und Mikroalgen setzen dabei Wasserstoff frei. Forschungsarbeiten zur biotechnologischen Erzeugung von Wasserstoff konzentrieren sich darauf, den Stoffwechsel der Mikroben oder die Kulturbedingungen für die Mikroalgen so zu verändern bzw. anzupassen, dass die Organismen möglichst viel Wasserstoff produzieren und eine wirtschaftliche Herstellung möglich wird. Eine Herausforderung dabei ist zudem die Limitierung der Lichtversorgung der Purpurbakterien in Anlagen, die über den Labormaßstab hinausgehen.

Weitere Informationen unter: https://um.baden-wuerttemberg.de/biooekonomie-bio-ab-cycling

© Rafael Krotz / Fraunhofer IGB

„Biointelligente Lösungen für kreislauffähige Nahrungsmittelketten“ - 02.11.2022

Aus dem Forschungsnetzwerk des #Biointelligenz e.V. hat die Universität Hohenheim am 10. Oktober 2022 einen Workshop zum Thema „Biointelligente Lösungen für kreislauffähige Nahrungsmittelketten“ durchgeführt. Die sieben Vortragenden diskutierten mit den 16 Teilnehmern u.a. Anknüpfungspunkte zu den Themen 3D/4D Food Printing, Aromachemie, Food Informatics und KI in der Agrartechnik. Neben neuen kollaborativen Forschungsideen rund um das Thema 3D Food Printing (inspiriert aus den konkreten Praxisanfragen der Teilnehmenden) und dem Knüpfen neuer Kontakte, gab es viel positives Feedback für die Referent:innen aufgrund der toll aufbereitenden und spannenden Einblicke in die verschiedensten Themen der Biointelligenz. Weitere Workshops in den Bedürfnisfeldern Wohnen, Energie, Konsum und Gesundheit folgen in Kürze.

Biointelligent Production Sensor to Measure Viral Activity (BioProS) - 19.10.2022

Am 1. Juli 2022 startete das Projekt „Biointelligent Production Sensor to Measure Viral Activity (BioProS)“. Das Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von 48 Monaten und umfasst sieben Partner aus fünf Ländern: Fraunhofer IPA und Fraunhofer IGB (Deutschland), Politecnico di Milano (Italien), Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen (Deutschland), NecstGen (Niederlande), Elvesys (Frankreich), EurA AG (Deutschland) und BICO Group AB (Schweden). Ziel der Projektpartner ist es, die Prozesse zur Herstellung von Viren in der Bioproduktion zu verändern und neue Strategien zur Qualitätskontrolle durch eine kontinuierliche Echtzeit-Überwachung mit Hilfe der biohybriden Sensortechnologie zur Erkennung zellbasierter Virusinfektionszyklen zu ermöglichen. Dieses Projekt wird durch das Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm Horizon Europe der Europäischen Union gefördert (HORIZON-CL4-2021-DIGITAL-EMERGING-01-27: Entwicklung von Technologien/Geräten für die bio-intelligente Produktion (RIA)) unter der Fördervereinbarung Nr. 101070120.

© Fraunhofer IPA

Automatisierte Kultivierung von Biomasse - Festo stellt PhotoBionicCell vor - 09.09.2022

Unser Vereinsmitglied Festo stellt auf der Hannover Messe PhotoBionicCell vor. Der Bioreaktor macht Photosynthese von Algen effizient und im großen Stil möglich.

Algen sind kleine Klimaretter. Bereits bei ihrer natürlichen Photosynthese im Freien sind sie äußerst effizient und binden zehnmal mehr Kohlendioxid (CO₂) als Landpflanzen. In Bioreaktoren mit entsprechender Sensorik, Regelungstechnik und Automatisierung kann die Effizienz der Algen auf das Hundertfache von Landpflanzen gesteigert werden. Daher steckt in ihnen erhebliches Potenzial für eine klimaneutrale Kreislaufwirtschaft. Mit dem Forschungsprojekt PhotoBionicCell zeigt Festo auf der Hannover Messe 2022 einen möglichen Ansatz für die industrielle Biologisierung von morgen.

Dies stellt ein sehr gutes Beispiel für ein „Smart Biomanufacturing Device“ dar und somit der notwendige Basisarchitektur eines Biointelligenten Produktionssystems.

Weitere spannende Informationen zur Innovation von Festo:

© Festo

Unser Thesenpapier - 23.08.2022

In unserem Thesenpapier wollen wir aufzeigen, wie die Konvergenz aus Bio-, Hard- und Software neue biointelligente Produkte und Geschäftsmodelle ermöglichen und damit einen fundamentalen Beitrag zur Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit unserer Industrien leisten kann. Eine entscheidende Voraussetzung für diesen Wandel ist, dass technologische, informatorische und biologische Denkweisen und Methoden zusammenfinden.

Wir wollen anregen, dies durch flankierende politische Rahmenbedingungen mit angemessenen ökonomischen Anreizen zu beschleunigen. Der Zeitpunkt dafür war nie günstiger!

Hier geht es zu unserem Thesenpapier (als PDF).

 

© Fraunhofer IPA